Slow Blogging: 8 Reasons Why Everyone Wins

Image

 

I haven’t been Blogging as much. I should feel bad about it, but I don’t entirely. Why? Because I’ve written 12,000 words in 6 days, and I am dang happy about that. Ironically, as I tore through pages and pages of my second draft, I stumbled across this article on ‘Slow Blogging’ as it is called.

When I started this blog, it was my intention to post as much as possible. Ah, the naivety of youth. That being said, I really enjoy posting. But I’ve also noticed that the more often I post on here, the more distracted my writing becomes on my Work In Progress. It is an unfortunate side-effect of mixing non-fiction writing and fiction narrative.

The gist of the article is this: Do you value quality, or quantity? As a writer who eventually wants my work to be read by a decent sized audience, I’m inclined to say that I value quality. I would rather produce an interesting, engaging post once or twice a week than a ramble about my cat and how awesome she is (Seriously, though. She is awesome. See obligatory cat photo below).

Image
The desk is a mess. The calendar is wrong. My pen obsession is on view for the world to see. Sigh. I’ve really let things go.

 

It also occurs to me that I might be spamming my poor readers’ inboxes with a post every single day. So, that being said, I’m going to make a writer’s pledge to try to produce good, quality posts two or three times a week. I haven’t quite worked out the number, but as this Blogging thing becomes more routine, I’m sure I’ll settle on something I like. Here’s the article below:

http://annerallen.blogspot.com/2012/06/slow-blog-manifestoand-8-reasons-why.html

If you Blog, how often do you post? Thoughts on the article? I love reading your comments! I’m off to hash out the rest of my second draft. =)

4 thoughts on “Slow Blogging: 8 Reasons Why Everyone Wins

  1. Hey what do you know, I’m a slow blogger and didn’t even know it.

    I too prefer quality over quantity so I’ll post once or twice a week and try to offer something interesting to read when I do.

  2. I definitely value quality. Who wants to read a ton of crap? 😉 And your cat is so frickin adorable! I tend to post a lot, though, but that ’cause I’m a natural born rambler, hehe.

Leave a Reply

