To NaNoWriMo or Not?

Image
This probably also applies to blogging and everything I do on the internet…oh well.

 

So here we are. The day before D-Day. The day before becoming a recluse suddenly becomes more socially acceptable for 195,000 people. In some circles, we call this Halloween. In others, we might call this ‘Crap-National-Novel-Writing-Month-Starts-Tomorrow-And-I-Haven’t-Decided-If-I-Want-To-Do-It-Yet-Day’.

Let me just say that the thrashings of fear and I-Don’t-Wanna’s didn’t start until a few days ago. I was very gung ho about this whole thing a few weeks ago, and I looked forward to being able to start a new novel with a clean slate. I think my mistake was deciding to finish my OTHER novel before November. Suddenly the last week of October became crunch time, and with just a few scenes left to write, I realize that I’m not going to be able to pull this off before November. That, in and of itself, is not a big deal, but it’s very much a mental block for me. I get a little stressed out (read: a lot stressed out) when I feel like I have too many unfinished projects in the works, and I’m not sure I can start a new one with this one so close to being finished.

I suppose I shouldn’t guilt trip myself, because I have written two books, and while they’re both just drafts, they’re still lengthy, legible texts, and that is something. But as a big proponent of outlines, I can’t help but wonder what the freedom of NaNoWriMo would be like. Would it paralyze me or jolt my creativity that is sometimes stifled by my list-making, OCD self?

I’m not sure.

And that’s why I’m kind of curious about this whole NaNoWriMo thing.

I did see a section for NaNoWriMo Rebels, which might be my kind of thing, because I keep seeing myself participating in the month like this:

1) Counting blog posts.

2) Counting scenes for my second draft.

3) Counting any new scenes for new novels.

 And I’m fairly certain only 3 is legitimate as far as word counting for this month goes.

 So basically, here is my game plan. I signed up. I can’t resist. But I am not going to beat myself up if I don’t reach 50,000 words of new material, because frankly, I just finished 130,000 words of material, and I’m a bit tired. But I am going to use this month as brainstorming time for new novels, as I edit my old one. I have several ideas that I have yet to try out in practice, and this month of reckless writing abandon seems like the perfect environment to figure it all out in.

 Hopefully.

 What does NaNoWriMo look like for you guys? Misery loves company! 

 

 

6 thoughts on “To NaNoWriMo or Not?

  1. This is the first year I’ve even heard of it (I guess I wasn’t in the ‘write’ circles), so I didn’t sign up. But it’s definitely intriguing so I may give it a try next year. Good luck!!! I applaud your courage ❤

Leave a Reply

